top of page
Search
  • jckorb98

"It Never Snows in Bonn"

Updated: Feb 5, 2019

1/31/19

Another week of classes down, and I am excited for the three-day weekend. Classes have gotten started for real, and my first assignments and readings were due this week. German is getting slightly easier, but I need to put more effort into learning the language. My hope is to be conversational by the end of the semester, and the sooner I start putting in daily practice, the more improvement I will see. Physiology is probably my favorite class at the moment, and since I took A&P 1 and 2 my senior year as dual credit, I already have a good foundation for the class. Dr. Fajt arrived in Germany this week, and it was nice to meet our professor and have our first in-person classes. Exams seem a long way away, but I know the weeks are going by quickly, especially with the abundance of traveling approaching, so I need to be studying as I go.

Yesterday morning, I woke up to the beautiful sight of snow falling. I did not expect it to last or stick to the ground based on what I have been told about the weather in the area, but to my surprise, it has not stopped snowing since yesterday, and a solid five or six inches of fresh powder has covered the city. Bonn has been transformed into a beautiful winter city, and while it has made the public transportation even more frustrating, we have enjoyed it. Yesterday after class, a lot of us students went for a snowball fight in the Hofgarten. Afterwards, we built an enormous snowman taller than myself. It was a great way to end the day, and I am a little disappointed to be leaving Bonn for Berlin this weekend, because I would like to stay and enjoy this winter treat.


18 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Reflections

It has been a little over two months since returning from my adventure abroad, and so I decided to finally sit down and finish the story of my family vacation and reflect on my experience. After being

bottom of page