top of page
Search
  • jckorb98

Exams and Day Trips

Returning from Spring Break meant returning to classes, if only for a short week. Everything went quickly, as we had a physiology exam and lab exam that week. Between studying for those, keeping up with normal coursework, and preparing for the final stages of Enmodes, I had plenty to keep me busy during my free time. I started utilizing my bus rides by listening to podcasts and reading after I discovered a book store in Bonn with an English section. I was excited to discover a book that had been on my to-read list for over a year, When Breath Becomes Air. The lab exam went well, and it was nice to return to routine for the week. That weekend, Ana and I took two day trips. Saturday, we visited the ancient Roman city of Trier, where we toured churches, cathedrals, Roman baths and other ruins, and enjoyed a German city with an ancient feel. There was also a short hike to the top of a hill overlooking the city, and after seeing most of the sites we had a very late lunch and gelato in the town center.






We returned to Bonn that evening, and got an early start the next morning to visit a new country: Luxembourg. Ironically, we had to pass through Trier to get there, but we saved money not having to find overnight accommodations, so it worked out. Once there, we attended an English speaking church and then began touring the city. From the beautiful central park to the stunning central canyon and bridge to the historical buildings in the city center, Luxembourg was a beautiful capital. It was also interesting to be surrounded by so many languages. Nearly all of the locals speak a minimum of three languages: German, French, and Luxembourgish. Most also speak English, Italian, or other languages popular in the region. It is also one of the three seats of the EU government, and there were several pro-EU demonstrations going on that day amid the Brexit turmoil. We had asian food and boba tea for dinner, which probably isn't traditional Luxembourgish cuisine, but we enjoyed it. We spent most of both days having some interesting political and religious conversations. Ana is Catholic, whereas I am nondenominational Protestant, and we enjoyed discusses our differences and finding similarities in our various beliefs. At the end of the day, we attended a local Mass before finding out train station to return home.





We enjoyed a very late train back to Bonn, using the three hour trek to study for our Physiology exam that Tuesday and nap. Even though it was tiring, it was an enjoyable weekend. I liked seeing the new places and enjoyed Ana's conversation and perspectives. While I was stressed to return to school because of the exam, Monday and Tuesday went well. Classes flew by, and the exam went well. Unfortunately, I had not had much time to recuperate for our next excursion: France.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reflections

It has been a little over two months since returning from my adventure abroad, and so I decided to finally sit down and finish the story of my family vacation and reflect on my experience. After being

bottom of page