top of page
Search
  • jckorb98

Back in Bonn

After a crazy ten days of traveling, it was nice to spend the last week back in Bonn. It was a busy school week, and all of our classes met several times to try to catch up. We also progressed in the Enmodes research project, presenting our ideas for which problem to tackle this semester and beginning the process of narrowing our options down to the final three. This was also one of our only weeks with Dr. Fajt, our pharmacology professor, here with us, so we met every day for that class except Friday. My classes are going well, and I can't complain. Twelve hours is much easier than my past course loads, and everything I am taking this semester interests me. I am a little nervous for the first round of exams, which are fast approaching, but I am sure with a little effort it will be a breeze.

We enjoyed fantastic weather this week (in fact, it was warmer here than most of Texas). I am hoping it lasts, but my host family assures me that the cold weather will make a return. I have continued to get to know them better. My host parents, Birgit and Stephan, have been going to parties for Karneval, a large holiday here in the Rhineland, most of the weekend. They are very kind and considerate, always making sure I have everything I need. I have talked quite a bit with Simon, who is in his second to last year of high school. He hopes to go to university to study physics, and he was excitedly telling me about an internship at the Hadron Supercollider that he is applying for (I hope he gets it!). He told me over dinner tonight that he has school off this Tuesday, so he and some of his friends are playing Dungeons and Dragons all day (I couldn't help but think of the boys from Stranger Things and smile).

Other than school, this week was pretty relaxing. I went to the gym several times, and enjoyed the weather by going running in preparation for my half marathon. On Tuesday, I played volleyball with a local club here in Bonn. They said they enjoyed having me and invited me back, so I am looking forward to playing again this Tuesday. It isn't as competitive as in College Station, but I love getting some touches in and staying busy. Wednesday, some of us students went to a local bar to enjoy the Dortmund - Tottenham Champions League game (the second leg of which I am attending with two of the other students in March). I love watching soccer, but going out and enjoying everyone's company and the game was a ton of fun, and I think we are going to make a tradition of it.







4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reflections

It has been a little over two months since returning from my adventure abroad, and so I decided to finally sit down and finish the story of my family vacation and reflect on my experience. After being

bottom of page